SUNDAY, 2nd DAY OF CELTIC ADVENT

THE FRACTION, STOWE MISSAL–“Cognouerunt Dominum”

They recognised The Monarch, Alleluia
In the breaking of the Bread. Alleluia.
For the bread that we break is the body of our Sovereign Jesus Christ, Alleluia;
The cup which we bless is the blood of our Sovereign Jesus Christ, Alleluia.
For the remission of our sins, Alleluia.
O Sovereign, let your mercy come upon us, Alleluia;
For how we have hoped in you, Alleluia.
They recognised The Sovereign, Alleluia;
In the breaking of the Bread, Alleluia.

We believe, O Sovereign, we believe that in this breaking of your body
and pouring out of your blood we become redeemed people;
We confess that by our sharing of this Sacrament we are strengthened
to endure in hope until we lay hold
and enjoy its true fruits in the heavenly places.


I’ve been on this Journey to ICEC my whole life. Sure, that’s a way to look at a life. But it actually makes a lot of sense. I’m alive on this planet today because of the courage of gay men. One beautiful, spring-like Epiphany, a group of gay men rescued me from a sidewalk in Houston TX, where a man had kicked me to the ground, put a knife to my throat, and promised he was going to kill me. When I made eye contact with this man I realised he intended me harm and started screaming “Fire!” (one does not scream “Help/Murder/Rape” but “Fire!” because people will come out to see if their house is burning down) At any rate, a group of gay men, in literal Leather, came out to rescue me and send a few of their running jocks out after my fleeing attacker. In that time and at that time, in that place–the Montrose–there was a vigilante group after gay men. I was buffed and beautiful; I had super short, spiky hair all plastered down from running and headphones; my breasts were bound in a jog-bra covered up by a baggy sweatshirt; I had on gym shorts over sweatpants. Two Lesbian psychologists put me in touch with a number of gay men who’d been accosted and attacked by a man fitting the description of my attacker. I was the victim of a gay hate crime. At that time the AIDS fear was at a peak. I can remember thinking, “Oh, it’s just a virus that a 1:10 bleach:water solution kills”; these folks risked their lives to save mine; I’m spending the rest of my life in solidarity with the folks who’d always saved my life; with a group of folks who continue to save my life, in so many ways.

I was born into a household of totally atypical Southern Baptists, two people whose theology had nothing much to do with the SBC, a witchy Native American woman/mother and an Irish-American, Fenian/father. From an early age I knew I was no more a Southern Baptist than I was a Republican! In high school and nursing school I started exploring different faiths. I first thought I might be RC…or Jewish. But I realised that connection was about family, something this only child wanted, a big extended family.

From an early age of about five I discovered St. Andrew’s Episcopal Cathedral in Jackson MS. The Beauty of that place drew me into Confirmation. And there I remained, discerning, until 2004.

Leave a comment